Virgin Gorda & Last Day on Tortola - Reisverslag uit Little Carrot Bay, Britse maagdeneilanden van Larissa Ayumi Kuramae Izioka - WaarBenJij.nu Virgin Gorda & Last Day on Tortola - Reisverslag uit Little Carrot Bay, Britse maagdeneilanden van Larissa Ayumi Kuramae Izioka - WaarBenJij.nu

Virgin Gorda & Last Day on Tortola

Door: Ayumi Kuramae

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Larissa Ayumi

30 November 2013 | Britse maagdeneilanden, Little Carrot Bay

My trip to Virgin Gorda was really nice! I enjoyed being on the island and to wander around the caves of The Baths. I went there 4times, just go get myself lost… for several times.. hihi!
The Boulders are so big, unbelievable. I was standing next to it and I was feeling even smaller than I already am.
Through the whole island you see big boulders and even houses are made around these boulders. So you will have half of the boulder sticking out in your kitchen or room.

The boulders are from the volcano, which deposited granite that eroded into piles of boulders on the beach. It's really interesting that the way they are formed through years, it formed tide pools and caves. It was like I was on a fantasy island, the opposite of Saba. Saba it's just like jurassic park scenario, but Virgin Gorda it's like a treasure chest unknown island.

Today I stood up at 5:30 to prepare myself for surfing. It's amazing how many people you get to know along your adventure when you are travelling alone. I met Marcus, a guy who is always jogging in the morning because of his heart. He is a surfer and was happy to bring me to the other surfspot to spend the whole morning surfing till it was time to check out. But the weather had other ideas, thunderstorms and rain. So that was a no-go for surfing. The waves were high, uneven and breaking really near the shore. So too dangerous, especially for a beginner.

I went back to my room and slept for an hour. I woke up surprised with the thoughts: what am I doing?! I am wasting my time. So I stood up and had some breakfast and went for a walk. With the sad thoughts that I couldn't go for surfing on my last day, I went trough all the surfing schools on Sint Maarten to manage to get some lessons for tomorrow. And I did, tomorrow at 11am I will be surfing on the waves of Sint Maarten till 14:00. Fingers crossed that everything will be ok and then it will be time to say goodbye to the sun and the sea, diving and surfing, and prepare myself mentally for the (maldito) cold of The Netherlands.

Now time to meet up with my newly made friends, a couple from Puerto Rico. The woman is Brazilian and the guy is Dutch. They are really fun and we will be on the same flight tonight!


  • 30 November 2013 - 17:10

    Eiko:

    MALDITO cold??? hahahaha... Sometimes you are really funny!!!
    Well...it is not only cold but also rainy. Be prepared!
    With or without waves and wind, enjoy your last day in St. Marteen!!!

    Beijos,

    Mama

  • 30 November 2013 - 17:10

    Eiko:

    MALDITO cold??? hahahaha... Sometimes you are really funny!!!
    Well...it is not only cold but also rainy. Be prepared!
    With or without waves and wind, enjoy your last day in St. Marteen!!!

    Beijos,

    Mama

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Larissa Ayumi

Dag allemaal, Dit is een dagboek wat ik bij zal houden tijdens mijn gehele stage naar de Cariben! Voor de geïnteresseerden is er dan zo nu en dan wat te lezen over mijn voorbereidingen, mijn avonturen en de nieuwe leerzame momenten die ik mee zal maken tijdens mijn stage op Texel, St Maarten, Statia en Saba. Português: Para todos da minha família do Brazil, aqui vai dar para vocês ler (ou curtir) o que eu vou estar fazendo no meu estagio em Saba/Martinique e Statia. Porque eu sei que a maioria da minha família estão muito curiosos. Mais tomara que eu posse te contar isso quando eu for te visitar ai no Brazil.

Actief sinds 14 Juli 2013
Verslag gelezen: 1230
Totaal aantal bezoekers 21747

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Januari 2015 - 08 Juni 2015

Study Abroad

20 Augustus 2013 - 01 December 2013

Mijn stagedagboek!

Landen bezocht: